First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gil Gatch William M. "Bill" Hixon Kimberly O. Johnson Josiah Magnuson Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Michael F. Rivers, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

Law Enforcement and Criminal Subcommittee Tuesday, March 8, 2022 10:00 a.m. Blatt Room 110

## Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

 The Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Chris Wooten on Tuesday, March 8, 2022, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. Rep. Josiah Magnuson and Rep. John R. McCravy, III are present for all or a portion of the meeting.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

#### **Administration of Oath**

- I. Chair Wooten reminds all others placed under oath at prior meetings that they remain under oath.
- II. Chair Wooten places the following agency personnel under oath:
  - a. Allen Wilson, Attorney General
  - b. Jeff Young, Chief Deputy
  - c. Barry Bernstein, Deputy Attorney General
  - d. Katie Elliott, Human Resources Director
  - e. Matthew Gates, Deputy Attorney General
  - f. Kim Buckley, Finance Director

#### **Discussion of Attorney General's Office**

- I. Attorney General Wilson makes remarks. Topics discussed include:
  - a. COVID-19;
  - b. Agency mission;
  - c. Attorney General duties across states and territories vary;
  - d. Past State Attorney Generals;
  - e. Size of office;
  - f. Agency head qualifications and duties;
  - g. Agency counterparts;
  - h. Agency organizational units;
    - i. Legal Services Division;
    - ii. Solicitor General;
    - iii. Criminal;
    - iv. Crime Victim Services;
    - v. Administration Division;
  - i. Personnel/employee overview;
  - j. Appropriated budgets;
  - k. Revenue generated
  - 1. Operating budget;
  - m. Expense by fund source;
  - n. Assessment:

- i. Successes;
- ii. Challenges; and
- iii. Emerging issues
- o. Response to public input; and
- p. Internal results
- II. Subcommittee members ask questions relating to the following:
  - a. Appeals;
  - b. Review of officer involved shootings; and
  - c. Appointment of Crime Victim Ombudsman

Agency personnel respond to the questions.

### **Approval of Minutes**

I. Representative Magnuson makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the October 27, 2021, meeting. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Magnuson's motion to approve the meeting minutes.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. K. Johnson			✓(NP)
Rep. McCravy	✓		
Rep. Magnuson	✓		
Rep. Wooten	✓		

## Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.